Bachhaus Eisenach

Museum der Neuen Bachgesellschaft e.V.

2_Orgel 03.jpg

Instrument collection

The Bachhaus has an important collection of musical instruments. Four of these, including a fretted clavichord from around 1690, were donated by the Leipzig collector and dealer in music supplies Paul de Wit to the Bachhaus for its opening in 1907. The size of the collection was significantly expanded in 1910 by the donation of 154 instruments by Aloys Obrist. 

Today the collection encompasses over 400 instruments, including a Thuringian house organ dating from 1650, a seven-stringed viola da gamba (Leipzig 1725, made by the instrument builder Johann Christian Hoffmann, who was a friend of Bach’s), a five-string violoncello piccolo (North Bohemia, ca. 1750) and a viola d’amore with six playing strings and six resonating strings (Vienna, ca. 1700), plus a Thuringian harpsichord dating from 1715, a harpsichord made by Jacob Hartmann (ca. 1765), two spinets by Johann Heinrich Silbermann (1765) and an unfretted pedal clavichord (around 1815).

Some instruments are still played for all visitors today, in keeping with the motto of Conrad Freyse, director of the Bachhaus from 1923 to 1964: “In the Bachhaus, music should never be silent”. The instrument store can be opened up to accompanied study groups by prior arrangement.

Fretted clavichord, Saxon design, ca. 1690. Donated by Paul de Wit, 1907. Photo: Ulrich Kneise; photo at top: Constantin Beyer.

Museumswebsite gefördert durch:

Landesstelle für die nichtstaatlichen Mussen in Bayern
Bayerische Sparkassenstiftung

Bachhaus Eisenach

Museum der Neuen Bachgesellschaft e.V.

2_Orgel 03.jpg

Instrumentensammlung

Das Bachhaus verfügt über eine bedeutende Sammlung von Musikinstrumenten. Vier davon, darunter ein gebundenes Clavichord aus der Zeit um 1690, machte der Leipziger Sammler und Musikalienhändler Paul de Wit dem Bachhaus zur Eröffnung 1907 zum Geschenk. Bedeutenden Zuwachs erhielt der Bestand 1910 durch die Schenkung der 154 Instrumente umfassenden Sammlung von Aloys Obrist.

Heute umfasst die Sammlung über 400 Instrumente, darunter ein thüringisches Orgelpositiv von 1650, eine siebensaitige Gambe (Leipzig 1725, gebaut von dem mit Bach befreundeten Instrumentenbauer Johann Christian Hoffmann), ein fünfsaitiges Violoncello piccolo (Nordböhmen, ca. 1750) und eine Viola d’amore mit sechs Spielsaiten und sechs Resonanzsaiten (Wien, um 1700), weiter ein thüringisches Cembalo von 1715, ein Cembalo von Jacob Hartmann (ca. 1765), zwei Spinette von Johann Heinrich Silbermann (1765) und ein bundfreies Pedalclavichord (um 1815).

„Im Bachhaus darf die Musik nicht schweigen“: Getreu dem Motto des langjährigen Bachhaus-Direktors Conrad Freyse werden einige Instrumente bis heute allen Besuchern vorgeführt. Begleiteten Studiengruppen kann das Depot nach Voranmeldung zugänglich gemacht werden.

Gebundenes Clavichord, sächsische Bauweise, ca. 1690. Schenkung von Paul de Wit, 1907. Foto: Ulrich Kneise; Foto oben: Constantin Beyer.

Museumswebsite gefördert durch:

Landesstelle für die nichtstaatlichen Mussen in Bayern
Bayerische Sparkassenstiftung